Math Killed My Blog

One of you may be asking yourself: “Where has Chris’s blog been?”

That, my friend, is a fair question.

At the beginning of this year, a short two months ago, I made the bold assertion that I would once again be blogging my way through the Bible every day. This proclamation was born out of a desire to reinstitute some much needed structure into my Bible reading routine and to encourage my readers to continue in the scriptures with joyful persistency.

As 2014 has progressed, however, “everyday” turned into “regular” which then devolved into “almost never.”

Why?

Well, here’s where the title of this blog comes in:

Over the past year, life in the Burke house hold has completely changed. As of June 2013, I reentered the world of academia to complete my degree in history. As of September of 2013, I became a free agent on the job market. As of February 2014, I became a father for the fourth time and began a new full-time job with State Farm. And finally, as of about 9:15pm on March 15, 2014, I completed the final test of my undergraduate degree from CSU East Bay.

If the past two months were a math problem, it would look something like this:

full-time job + 4 kid under 5 + finishing bachelor’s degree = no time for blogging

or something like that.

The reality is however, that I could have found time to blog each day. I mean I did spend time with my kids. I found time to enjoy my wife’s company. I exercised. I met up with people a few times. I watched some tv. I read a little.

I had time.

However, working from home all day, enjoying endless hours of training material while at the same time completing online classes means many, many hours in front of a computer screen while my kids are present. For the past month, if daddy was on the computer, he was working, and his ability to interact with the little Burkes was somewhat limited.

The short answer for why I haven’t been blogging is that I needed to be away from the screen. I don’t want my kids to see daddy with his eyes glued to the computer and assume he’s working when he’s not.

I get the feeling that too many kids experience their parents as connected to an electronic device and therefore disconnected from them. I want my kids to experience me as fully present in whatever we’re doing. This is not possible when in front of a screen.

There was a time in my recent past when blogging would have been considered part of my job. That time is not now, and therefore, it takes a back seat. I enjoy doing it. I think others enjoy when I blog. But it’s taken a spot very low on the priority list at the moment. I hope you’ll stay tuned for what I might post. I do intend to continue regularly posting.

But if you ever sit and wonder why Chris hasn’t posted for a while, just think to yourself, “he’s probably skateboarding with his kids, or snuggling with his wife.”

You’ll most likely be right.

This entry was posted in Family, Marriage, Parenting, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Math Killed My Blog

  1. marydavidson says:

    This was beautiful. Your best blog yet! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

