My Top 10 Songs

I’ve been sitting on this post for a while, but I thought it was about time I got it out there.

A lot of people ask me what my favorite songs and bands are. I never have a great answer for them. The best I can do is to tell them who I like now, which is currently All Sons and Daughters, of whom I have already written. Are they my favorite band? No. They’re just the one I am most captured by at the moment. They’ll soon become part of my regular musical diet and another band will take the place of prominence for a season.

Choosing favorites is hard. I wrote a post about two years ago on my top 10 Christian albums. But I can’t honestly say that it still represents my feelings on the issue.

So, as I thought about how I would do a top 10 list of songs, I had to ask a question:

How does one measure a favorite song?

Is it an issue of frequency, like how many times I’ve listened to it? Or is it about the feelings it evokes, like does it consistently bring you to tears or something like that?

Those are good indicators of a potential favorite. But most compelling for me was this question:

What are the songs that I almost never skip on the shuffle setting of my ipod?

Our moods change every day, sometimes every hour. And a song that resonates with you today, may not do so in a week. But I have found that there are songs that I almost never skip, regardless of time of day, mood, or anything else. And when I began to compile this list, I found some very interesting things about myself. So, here’s the list, in no particular order, of my top 10 nearly-never skipped songs:

Warrior – Sojourn
Superstition – Stevie Wonder
Living for the City – Stevie Wonder, Johnny Lang, Ray Charles
Hosanna – Kirk Franklin
Mission Accomplished – Shai Linne
Ordinary People – John Legend
Lead us Back – Sojourn
If I Ain’t Got You – Alicia Keys
Death in His Grave – John Mark McMillan
Jesus Paid it All – Kristian Stanfill

So, what does this list say about me?

I like good music.
I like soulful music. In fact, with a few exceptions, every song on this list is in the category of R&B, Gospel, Soul, Blues, or some combination thereof.
I like love songs that move beyond the superficial.
I like Stevie Wonder and Sojourn a lot.

I’m sure it says a lot of other things about me as well, so feel free to analyze and comment.

And just in case you’re wondering, if I was going to pick one song on this list as an all-time favorite, it would almost unquestionably be Hosanna, by Kirk Franklin.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Top 10 Songs

  1. Peterc says:

    Inspired by your top 10 album list, I took a listen to Jesus freak recently. It had been a few years. But I think it holds up pretty well for being nearly 20 years old.

    My point for mentioning is that I think dc talk’s rendition of in the light is an excellent song. My freshman year roommate in college even liked it, and he was by no means a christian. Anyway, all this to say, how do you like that song?

    And by the way, I like your list. Stevie wonder is…wonderful.

  2. Chris says:

    Love that song. We used to do it at youth group all the time. And yes, Stevie is wonderful

  3. Armando says:

    Love this list. I’d say Warrior, Ordinary People and Mission Accomplished are on my list of never skip songs. Funny especially 2 out of those 3 you told me about

Leave a Reply

