Hebrews 11-13: Why Should We Be Content?

It’s often the small phrases, and even the small words, that make all the difference in the way that the Bible speaks into our lives. Take verse 5 from Hebrews 13 as an example:

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

That word “for” is really important. The writer of Hebrews commands us to be free rom the love of money and to be content with what we have. Those are good and true virtues to uphold. And many of us stop there. But he continues on to tell us why we should be content: for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Who said it?

the Lord said these words to Joshua as he led the people into the promised land. God said:

Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you.

This promise stands for us today. And it is the reason why we can be content. What higher reason is there for us to be content? When the Lord Himself is with us, what else do we need?

Is that enough for us? Is it enough to know that God promises His very presence with us? I pray it is, but I fear that too often we don’t think that God is enough. The call of Hebrews 13:5 is that we give up any worldly notions of need and trust fully in the promise and power of God. We are called to say with the Psalmist:

Whom have I in heaven but You?
And there is no one on earth I desire besides You.
My heart and my flesh may fail
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

