Acts 11-12: Oops, Missed One!

So I went to write my blog today and discovered that I wrote today’s blog yesterday, and after further inspection, I have found that I missed Acts 11-12, so, here is what I would have said about these two chapters, had I not skipped over them three days ago.

In Acts 11, Peter returns from his visit to Cornelius, during which time the Holy Spirit fell upon the Gentiles for the first time.

He reports this amazing act of God to the brothers in Jerusalem and this is how they respond:

When they heard these things they fell silent. And they glorified God, saying, “Then to the Gentiles also God has granted repentance that leads to life.”

There are few things that most Christians take for granted more than the fact that Gentiles are included in the new people of God. Being a Gentile myself, I am grateful for this mystery of the Gospel that was revealed at this moment.

Throughout the Old Testament, the people of God were limited by their ethnicity, they were almost exclusively Jews. This was purposeful on God’s part. He tells them throughout the OT that He chose not because they were the greatest race or the most powerful people, but because they were small and completely average. By choosing Israel, He was demonstrating that He showed no partiality based on status.

But now, this side of the cross, God has shown that He shows no partiality based on race or ethnic make-up. Anyone and everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved, Jew and Gentile alike.

For this, I am incredibly grateful to God. It means that I will be saved, not because I’m so rich or so poor or so Irish or so American, but because I call on the name of Jesus.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

