John 6: The Bread of Life

I love bread.

I do.

I love the way it smells. I love the way the crust crunches as you bite into it. I love scooping out the soft warm center of a fresh slice of french bread. I love the way that bread soaks up the juices from a medium rare steak or a the extra sauce from a plate of spaghetti.

I love bread.

My love for bread may be why I love the comparison the Jesus makes in John 6. After feeding the 5 thousand, Jesus says this to His disciples:

I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.

The thing is, no matter how much bread you eat, you’ll always be hungry again. But if you feast on Jesus, and allow him to fill you, you will be satisfied forever. He is the bread of life. All of life. And in Him there is complete satisfaction. He will not let His people go hungry and He has more than enough to fill us up.

In the same way that the 5 thousand came away with 12 baskets of leftovers from a meal of 5 loafs of bread and two fish, so God’s people come away overflowing with the fullness of Christ in us.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

