Jeremiah 7-9: Something Worth Boasting In

I am a boaster. Of my many visible sins, boasting is one to which I feel most susceptible, though I am not normally accused of being a boaster. I think people write me off as just someone who likes to talk, and, as someone who likes to talk, things I’ve done and things I’m doing come up in the natural course of conversation… right?

Wrong.

I talk about myself far too often because I love when people tell me how great I am. I tell people how much weight I’ve lost or how many books I’ve read or how much work I’ve done in the yard, because I want them to be as impressed with me as I am.

But I am utterly unimpressive, and I have nothing worth boasting about…

…except for one thing.

and Jeremiah 9:23-24 hits it right on the head:

Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.”

I know God!

We have a real and genuine relationship in which He speaks to me and I respond, and I speak to Him and He responds! The God of all the universe, the One from whom angels hide their faces, the One who shakes the mountains with a whisper, the One who spoke and things were made, the One who redeemed the world through the blood of His Son, is the God whom I call Father, and the Friend who will never leave.

He is perfect and holy, I am flawed and sinful. He is righteous and just, I am evil and a liar. He is good and gracious, I am selfish and boastful. He is God and I am not. Yet, I know Him and love Him and He knows me and loves me because He has taken all my junk and turned it into gold. He has made me worthy of His time and His love, and He has done so through the cross in which I trust.

There is nothing greater than to know God and be known by Him. It is the answer to all of life. And it is worth boasting in.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

