Don’t Give Away All You Have If…

…You have not love. 1 Corinthians 13:3:

If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If we don’t have love, true abiding, blood-bought love, and we sacrifice everything we have, we will lose the only thing that we have. Without the love of Christ shown to us and through us, we have no hope beyond this life, so what is the use of giving away all we have if it’s all we will ever get.

It’s as if Paul is saying, “If I don’t have the love of Christ in me, I might as well be stingy and selfish with my things, my money, my time, and my life, because I have nothing to look forward to beyond what I gain in this life.”

But if we’ve been born again, if we are loved by God and if we love others with that same love, give it all, for what are cars and homes and breath when compared to the unending treasures of eternity in the presence of our loving and faithful Father? Nothing.

Without love, we lose everything to gain nothing. With love, we lose nothing and gain everything.

This entry was posted in Giving, God's Grace, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

