Proverbs 30-31: An Excellent Wife

It’s no secret that my wife is an excellent one. I am constantly and continually amazed that she would choose to be with me, and that God would choose to bless me with her. I truly got the better end of the deal in our marriage, and everyone who meets Jess knows it. In light of her innumerably wonderful qualities, and in light of today’s passage, I though it only fitting to give her some praise for the great blessing that she is to me and the kids. Listen to these words from the end of Proverbs 31:

Strength and dignity are her clothing,
and she laughs at the time to come.
She opens her mouth with wisdom,
and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
She looks well to the ways of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
Her children rise up and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
“Many women have done excellently,
but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Give her of the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.

Strength and dignity are her clothing Jess’ concern is her character, not her clothing choices. She is refreshingly unconcerned with her appearance, while I spend far too much time looking in the mirror, yet she completely outshines me in the looks department, and she carries herself with greater virtue than any woman I know.

she laughs at the time to come We have a running “joke” at home. Jess refers to dying as winning and constantly remind me that she is going to win. She has a wonderfully eternal perspective on life and carries herself without a worry for the coming days.

She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. This is Jessica, all the time. She is wise beyond her years and so gentle in her speaking that wisdom. I learn more from her than anyone else, and she only gets wiser as time passes.

She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. When I have time to spend at home, I watch shows online and read. Jess cleans and cooks and works and takes care of the kids, and then, when I get home, she apologizes for not getting everything done. She’s a machine. A really beautiful machine.

Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” It would be an understatement to say that our family is blessed to have this woman as a wife and mom. We would be lost without her. There are plenty of women who are virtuous and caring and wise, but they don’t hold a candle to my wife.

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. What happens when a woman is charming and beautiful and fears the Lord? her husband is happy and her household is healthy. Jess deserves more praise than I give her, much more, but she would never, ever want me to write all of this stuff. Which proves my point.

Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates. Even if I say nothing, the fruits of her labors speak on their own. Jess is an amazing woman, wife, and mother, and I praise God for her.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Proverbs 30-31: An Excellent Wife

  1. Victory says:

    This is a beautiful write-up. Thanks for sharing.

  2. peterc says:

    i think your second to last point actually goes, “charm is deceitful and beauty is vain. a woman who loves the Lord, she ain’t playin!”

Leave a Reply

