Proverbs 13-15: Walking with the Wise

I’m half-way through Proverbs and I finally remembered why the first time I read through it I underlined almost every verse (which I know defeats the purpose, but I was 15, what do you want me to do?) To say that Proverbs is filled with words of wisdom would be the biggest understatement of the year. I could easily write a post each day of the year from Proverbs alone.

But today, I want to do something different. I want to introduce you to a kid’s worship album. It’s called Walking with the Wise and it is produced by Sovereign Grace music. Walking with the Wise is always in heavy rotation at the Burke household. The whole album is inspired by the wisdom contained in Proverbs, especially the fact that it seems to have been written to children (or at least to the young son of King Solomon). Many of the songs are very close to the ESV Bible text, and others are very creative and fun songs using themes from within the Proverbs. Best of all, the album is entirely Gospel focused, never missing an opportunity to draw people’s attention to the crucified and risen Savior, Jesus Christ, who of course, is the wisdom and power of God.

If you have kids, you need this album, and if you don’t have kids, it would not be unwise to get it as well. I constantly have several of these songs stuck in my head, and hearing “Blessed is the one who fears the Lord, and admits his sin…” running through my head is very, very good for my soul.

Also, you can download the song “Mr. Lazy Bones” free from the Sovereign Grace Music website.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

