Psalm 73, 77-78: My Portion Forever

I spent today at the hospital. I was there to encourage and pray for a family at our church who’s son was having surgery. Everything went well. But as I was sitting in the waiting room, doing my reading for today, I came across these words in Psalm 73:

Whom have I in heaven but you?
And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

As I read these words, I thought about the ten year old boy on the operating table who is more well-accquainted with surgery than most people I know. He feels these words. His body has failed him in so many ways, yet his spirit is not dampened. He knows deeply what this passage means.

But we should too.

Our bodies fail us, our emotions lead us astray. There is only one thing that keeps us from literally falling apart, the strength and grace of God. But He does so much more than hold all things together. He is the Savior of all who trust in Him. He is the strength of our hearts, our sustenance, and our portion forever, our satisfaction.

If we trust in the saving blood of Christ, we will experience this God who sustains and satisfies. That boy who spent 5 hours in surgery today can teach us a lot about what it means to place not trust in our own bodies, and when we understand that not only our bodies, but everything in our lives will fail us, we will run to Christ who never fails.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

