1 Samuel 25-27: Abigail

There is a perception that the Bible is a male dominated book, that it does not value women, but time and again, the Lord brings to light women of noble character.

1 Samuel 25 introduces us to Abigail, the faithful wife of a faithless fool named Nabal (which means “fool”). What is so striking about this story is how she defends the honor of her household, and her husband, even though he is less than an ideal man.

He treats David’s servants with such contempt that David gathers his men to go up against him in battle. But Abigail rides out to meet David and pleads for mercy on behalf of her husband saying:

24 On me alone, my lord, be the guilt. Please let your servant speak in your ears, and hear the words of your servant. 25 Let not my lord regard this worthless fellow, Nabal, for as his name is, so is he. Nabal is his name, and folly is with him. But I your servant did not see the young men of my lord, whom you sent. 26 Now then, my lord, as the Lord lives, and as your soul lives, because the Lord has restrained you from bloodguilt and from saving with your own hand, now then let your enemies and those who seek to do evil to my lord be as Nabal. 27 And now let this present that your servant has brought to my lord be given to the young men who follow my lord. 28 Please forgive the trespass of your servant. For the Lord will certainly make my lord a sure house, because my lord is fighting the battles of the Lord, and evil shall not be found in you so long as you live. 29 If men rise up to pursue you and to seek your life, the life of my lord shall be bound in the bundle of the living in the care of the Lord your God. And the lives of your enemies he shall sling out as from the hollow of a sling. 30 And when the Lord has done to my lord according to all the good that he has spoken concerning you and has appointed you prince over Israel, 31 my lord shall have no cause of grief or pangs of conscience for having shed blood without cause or for my lord taking vengeance himself. And when the Lord has dealt well with my lord, then remember your servant.

David did remember her, and when Nabal died, he returned and married her. Her humble and contrite heart had won her the favor of the king. Is this not how God deals with us. He loves hearts that are penitent before, and he exalts the humble. Abigail gives us a picture of how we should come before the Lord, open handed and on our knees. And God is faithful to bring us into his house. He does so through Jesus Christ, who’s sacrifice makes our humble hearts pleasing to a holy God.

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

