Numbers 28-30: Nothing But the Blood

Numbers 28-29 deal heavily with the specifics of regular sacrifices, and the amount is simply staggering. There was a sacrifice each morning and each evening, a weekly Sabbath sacrifice, a monthly sacrifice, and there were significant sacrifices for all the feasts and holidays. This is not to mention the special goodwill and cleanliness sacrifices that were sure to take place on a pretty regular basis as well.

This leads to one thing: Lots of dead sheep. Why would God ask for this? Why would he require so much shedding of blood if He truly does want the heart of the people, not the burnt offerings and sacrifices?

Here’s what I think:

God lays things out in this way so that the people would, by sheer weight, begin to feel the truth that forgiveness for sins only comes by the shedding of blood. By regularly (daily) offering up the slaughtered remains of bulls and goats, the people come face to face with their sins all the time, and they see first hand, sin’s devastating effect. In many ways, the amount of sacrifices required was a gracious gift from God, for it left no one wondering whether their sins would be forgiven by some other means.

We do not have this luxury. We are not now blessed with the opportunity to regularly see the death that our sins bring about. But we do have something much better, One who sacrificed once for all for the forgiveness of our sins. Jesus, perfect and innocent, went to the cross on behalf of the guilty, and with His singular death, fulfilled the sacrificial requirements of every past, present, and future sin of God’s people. There is nothing that can atone for sin other than the blood of Christ. In His death, we find life.

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow
No other fount I know
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

For my pardon, this I see
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
For my cleansing this my plea
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

Nothing can for sin atone
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
Naught of good that I have done
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

This is all my hope and peace
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
This is all my righteousness
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

Now by this I’ll overcome
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
Now by this I’ll reach my home
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

Glory! Glory! This I sing
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
All my praise for this I bring
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

