Genesis 4-7

We all know the story of Enoch. In fact, he may be one of the most famous men in Scripture, and yet there are only 3 verses devoted to him. The reason he is so well known is that in those 3 verses, we are told not once, but twice that he “walked with God.” This is not a phrase that the Bible uses lightly. In fact, there is only one other person in the Bible for which this phrase is used, Noah. Surprisingly, I don’t think that I’ve heard anyone mention that, but there it is in verse 9 of Genesis chapter 6, “Noah walked with God.” Some have said that Adam did so as well. After all, God did come down and walk in the garden on the day that Adam and Eve first sinned. But the Bible doesn’t mention it. Only Enoch and Noah are given this description.

So, what does this look like? What sort of intimacy must we have with God in order to say that we are truly walking with Him? I think this question is vitally important, and I don’t know if I give it enough thought. I talk a lot about “the Christian Walk” referring to my journey as a believer, but I don’t know how much walking with God I actually do. I know my sins, I know my struggles, and I know how little time I spend with God. Part of me wants more explanation. Want to see the “Three Steps of Enoch and Noah: How to Truly Walk with God” somewhere in the Bible, but it is not there. And it probably would not help.

There is only one clue that the Bible gives as to how these men were able to truly walk with God. It’s found in Hebrews 11:

[5] By faith Enoch was taken up so that he should not see death, and he was not found, because God had taken him. Now before he was taken he was commended as having pleased God. [6] And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. [7] By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, in reverent fear constructed an ark for the saving of his household. By this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness that comes by faith.
(Hebrews 11:5-7 ESV)

These men had great faith. They had faith in the hope that was to come. They had faith in the salvation that God was going to bring about. Verse 6 says it so clearly, “without faith, it is impossible to please God.” This is the key to walking with God. We need Him to increase our faith. Without this gift of faith, we can never walk with Him. We must look to Christ. He is the Author and Perfecter of our faith. He is the one who makes faith possible. And He strengthens us to walk with God as Noah and Enoch did. This must become my prayer, that my vision of Christ would increase and produce a sure, rock solid faith that continues until the end. Oh, that this be true in me, and in everyone who puts their hope in God!

This entry was posted in Daily Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

